Oulipost Warmup #2: News as I-am(b)s

Finally getting back to posting my warm-ups for next month. This 2nd one was a bit more difficult than the tautagrams.

The object: to look for blank verse among the prose.

It’s been a while since I’ve worked with iambic meter (unstressed/stressed syllables), so it took a little adjustment and focus to get started. However, once I got in the habit (and made sure I was listening to music in mostly 4-4 time), the work flowed more smoothly. I found it best to catalog various sets of iambic feet (each foot is two syllables), so that I could graft together my 1-foot and 4-foot phrases and my 2-foot and 3-foot phrases instead of relying only on natural pentameter. I found it fun to create 3-line stanzas that roughly followed the pattern:

1-foot/4-foot

2-foot/3-foot

5-foot

 

Since there were far fewer isolated iambic feet, this allowed certain sestina-like repetitions in the stanzas. I like how the collage-pattern also creates recurrences in themes and reference across the poem, but each time the theme gets altered — something I’ve always appreciated about Ted Berrigan‘s Sonnets. I’m sure I’ll have to give myself extra time for this form, when I tackle it next month, but If I block out an extra hour and read some iambic pentameter the night before I should be in good shape. Here’s my warm-up blank verse among the prose.

 

They Also Vowed to Block a Move

 

among a little noticed outcome of

a shootout in the state a month before

addiction had significantly few

 

career across the Gulf of Thailand to

a window or suspected fragment spot

that little pocket is all you can do

 

invent a car in how they get around

believing right this month the market has

in greater numbers than at any time

 

become to 35% of those

a fishing pole we also offer you

without a trace in water miles deep

 

careered to protest the proposal which

officials say our smallest most discreet

behemoth transit network saw again

 

become available exclusively

the average price the special offer ends

the public took advantage of an x

 

invent instead of how you’re hearing it

to set their clocks experience depends

as evidence the nation’s urban shift

 

among the other transit systems in

insurance plans Americans are bored

few prisoners have incomes high enough

 

become a blip expanding bus and train

I’ve known about today in history

the trembler struck at 9:18pm.

Leave a comment